Parish Council Elections

Parish Councils

Parish and town councils vary enormously in size, activities and circumstances, representing populations ranging from a few hundred up to thousands. Most of them are small: and may spend under £25,000 per year. They are often referred to as “Local Councils”, and most are affiliated via the County Association to the National Association of Local Councils (NALC), which represents their interests at a national level

Their activities fall into three main categories: representing the local community, delivering services to meet local needs, and improving quality of life and community well being.

Parish councils raise their funds by levying a “precept” upon the council tax paid by the residents of the parish (or parishes) covered by the council.  Parish councils are made up of unpaid councillors who are elected to serve for four years.

Within the City of Durham constituency there are the following Parish Council’s we have candidates and Councillors in many of these, you can obtain more information by clicking on the lines in blue. We will add more information to these pages in the future.

Belmont Parish Council

Belmont Ward

Carrville Ward

Gilesgate Moor Ward

Brandon & Byshottles Parish Council

Central Ward

East Ward

South Ward

Ushaw Moor Ward

West Ward

North Ward

Cassop-cum-Quarrington Parish Council

East Ward

West Ward

City of Durham Parish Council

Durham South Ward

Elvet and Gilesgate Ward

Nevilles Cross Ward

Coxhoe Parish Council

Coxhoe Ward

Quarrington Hill Ward

Croxdale & Hett Parish Council

Sunderland Bridge Ward

Hett Ward

Framwellgate Moor Parish Council

Kelloe Parish Council

Pittington Parish Council

Pittington Ward

Littletown Ward

Shadforth Parish Council

Shadforth Ward

Sherburn Hill Ward

Ludworth Ward

Sherburn Village Parish Council

Shincliffe Parish Council       

West Rainton and Leamside Parish Council